For the fourth year, University Operations team members gathered for the UO Than-Q BBQ & Awards event. To the New Orleans sounds of Loco Zydeco, over 500 staff members enjoyed delicious food – supplied by our very own Food Services culinary team, and cooked up by leads from all UO units.

This is our opportunity to celebrate our entire team, and to honour our often unsung heroes for the great work they do in creatively, efficiently and dedicatedly furthering our mission through our three levels of UO Awards.

Our thanks once again to University College for inviting us back for another year!


Congratulations to all…and read more about your colleagues (and yourselves!) below!

University Operations Annual Staff Achievement Awards Program

The Vice-President University Operations has established the annual Staff Achievement Awards Program in order to recognize exceptional staff contributions to the success of their particular unit, the University Operations portfolio and the University.

The program provides University Operations with an opportunity to thank staff for the valuable work performed throughout the year.

Outstanding Individual Employee Award

Presented to an individual staff member (regardless of length of service) involved in any area of staff work who has made outstanding contributions that go beyond the ordinary fulfillment of the position’s duties.

This year’s winners:

  • Luke Sutherland, Information Technology Services
  • Haroon Rafique, Information Technology Services
  • Helen Chang,   Planning & Budget
  • Jenny Cheng,   Planning & Budget
  • Michal Kuzniar, University Planning Design & Construction
  • Elizabeth Urbanowski, Ancillary Services
  • Ryan Dow, Facilities & Services
  • Sarosh Jamal, Information Technology Services
  • Matt Wilks, Information Technology Services
  • Sarah Reid, Academic + Campus Events

Read more about each of our Winners in the 2018 University Operations Outstanding Individual Employee Award citations.


Distinguished Service Award

Presented to an employee with more than 15 years of service at the University who has made outstanding contributions that go beyond the ordinary fulfillment of the position’s duties.

This year’s winners:

  • Dave Stade, Facilities & Services
  • Stanley Czernic, Facilities & Services
  • Steve Atkinson, Facilities & Services
  • Paul Readings, Ancillary Services

Read more about each of our Recipients 2018 University Operations Distinguished Service Award citations.


Outstanding Staff Team Award

Presented to two or more staff members who function as a team and who have taken on a time-limited project.

EASI University of Toronto Business Intelligence (UTBI) and Planning & Budget Analytics team

  • Kelly Raposo
  • Alexandra Agostino
  • Anton Kruger
  • Louise Tardif
  • Diana Avon
  • Yuliya Cherevko
  • Robbie Liang
  • Andy Chien
  • Michael Green
  • Brenda Boshoff
  • Christine Beckermann

CERN team

  • Allan Stojanovic
  • Dave Auclair

O365 team

  • Ian Thomas
  • Vicki Vokas
  • Hong Zhu
  • Luke Sutherland
  • Peter Ip
  • Selena Panchoo
  • Chloe Payne
  • Melvin Chien
  • Maryam Shafiei
  • Marden Paul
  • Megan Badley
  • Waleed Chaudhary
  • Seth Feldman
  • Aline Pruvot

SIF Project Managers, Design & Engineering and F&S Staff teams

  • Keith Foster
  • Paul Savel
  • Eric Gadsdon
  • Sandy Habus
  • Thomas Elson
  • Craig Cullen
  • Latchmie Soondarlal
  • Michael O’Malley
  • Christine Tan
  • Gregory Saldanha
  • Ted McTavish
  • Steven Carnevale
  • Doug Colby
  • Irfan Miraj
  • Valeriya Varnavskaya
  • Jackson Cheung
  • Karolina Grujic
  • Jasmin Dvizac
  • Milan Cerovina
  • Peter Solu
  • Gordan Marinkovic
  • Robbie Suehiro
  • Graciano Da Ponte
  • Ben Li
  • Blair Jurecka
  • Adrian Phillips
  • Johnny Terzis
  • Sean O’Molloy
  • Carla Munoz
  • Kian Zehtabchi
  • Roberta Matarazzo
  • Wing-See Wu  
  •  Janis Dombrovskis
  •  Joanne Peng 

Asbestos Operations team

  • Elizabeth Church, UT Communications
  • Kate Enros, Office of the Provost
  • Leah Scherk, Faculty of Medicine
  • Irfan Miraj
  • David Cahalin
  • Heather Taylor, Faculty of Medicine
  • Yang Ting Shek, EHS, VP Research & Innovation
  • Jeremy Knight, Faculty of Medicine
  • Liam Mitchell, Faculty of Medicine


Read more about our Winners and their innovative projects in the 2018 University Operations Outstanding Staff Team Award citations.

Congratulations to all!


And did we mention great prizes? These were supplied by our own units, and competition was fierce!

Some of the prizes available were:

2 prizes of 1 month free parking or 1 month free TTC card (Transportation) – 1 was already awarded to Lizhen Li of F&S as our Early Bird prize

From Facilities & Servcices:

Steam Plant Tour

Campus Police Ride Along

Travel mugs from the Sustainability Office

Ceramic Mugs


Gardening Trowels from Grounds Services

Swiffer WetJets from Caretaking Services

Solar Security Lighting Set

“Special Constable” polo shirts from Campus Police

Classic fire extinguishers from Fire Prevention Services 

And fabulous prizes from Ancillary Services (Trademark Services) featuring:

Branded knapsacks

Baseball hats

Water bottles



and 10 x $50 Food Services gift cards!


What a great way to end the summer and to start the school year!

Related posts