Green Ribbon Awards Logo Leaves


Nominations are now open for the 2018 Green Ribbon Awards. Nominations can be made through the online form. Deadline to nominate an individual or group is February 5th, 2018!

The Green Ribbon Awards recognize outstanding achievements in campus sustainability. Each year, one award to an individual or group is made in each of the five categories:

Student Group


In celebration of the Sustainability Office’s 10th year on campus, a new category was added – The Beth Savan Honourary Green Ribbon Award. Beth Savan, Senior Lecturer Emeritus, School of the Environment, has been an integral part, not only of the formation of the Sustainability Office, but of the general sustainability program on campus.

Awards are made for the nominee’s direct contribution to the minimization of negative impacts on the environment, the conservation of natural resources, or the promotion of biodiversity on campus. Alternatively, their contribution may have increased awareness of the need for environmentally sustainable behaviour, encouraged and assisted members of the university community to adopt more environmentally sustainable behaviour, or helped establish a campus culture allowing this to happen.

Nominations take place in January and are submitted on our website through an online form (available on the website in January).
The current St. George community are eligible for the student, student group, faculty and staff categories. Past members of the St. George community are eligible for the Honourary category. External partners that work/support members of the St. George community are eligible for the external category.


 Congratulations to our 2017 winners (St. George Campus):

Student: Naomi Alon
Student Group: Green Chemistry Initiative (GCI)
Faculty: Dwight Seferos  (Department of Chemistry)
Staff – Inspirational: Haley Higdon (Jackman Institute)
Staff – Eco-footprint (tie): ESS Team – Leads Deborah Ovsenny and Cathy Eberts (HR&E)
365/24/7 Lighting Retrofit Project: Ted Kent, Larry Yang, Anthony Wright (F&S)
External: Roy Neves (D.J  Rain)

Full list of past winners

Related posts